United Lore

THE Blog On All Artix Entertainment Games

  • Featured Poll

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Subscribe

Taking Apart Your Average MechQuest Rant

Posted by The Peanut Master on May 6, 2009

Every so often in the BattleOn Forums one will find some poor fellow who wants his voice to be heard go over to the MQGD and voice their massive complaints against AE and MechQuest in a thread. Rarely do these threads have any substance, logic, or evidence, but it is kind of funny and entertaining to read them and analyze exactly what makes them so bad. I thought I’d take apart one of these threads for all of us educated soul’s personal enjoyment, so relax, sit back, and enjoy.

Original Thread Link: http://forums2.battleon.com/f/tm.asp?m=15960065

I joined MQ just about when it came out
thinking it would be a change from the surreal and disgustingly ludicrous AQ and the downright weird and frustrating DF

sadly, I was mistaken…

So I stopped playing long enough to get something done in my life and now I’ve come back and tried to enjoy it.

This time I just found myself coming back to the same worn out beating over and over again just to “reach that next level!” and “wear that awesome looking weapon!” on my “POS mecha!”

So, literally crawling and clawing my way through the levels and jobs that sit and stagnate even as I replay the same stale missions over and over JUST to get the Dice Randomizer Logarithm to scrape out a number just high enough to upgrade my lame character to the next job position so I could access better shops (only to find out i either couldn’t afford, didn’t have the level, or have to pay my real money to use any single item offered by these shops)

So i continued to crawl, slowly and agonizingly slowly to *whew* level 12!

Whoop de freaking doo

I still cant quite wear the weapons that would allow me to overcome the insane difficulty curve presented by the coding of MQ and anything else I could possibly use to tip the scales in my favor I have to plunk down the cash to buy Nova Gems? or a Star Captain authorization?!

you have GOT to be kidding me…

but hey we all have to make living somehow and BattleOn has decided to use shoddily thrown together flash games with a few little extras thrown on to force people to pay them to “have fun” playing a game that wasn’t fun to begin with.

So, as I said before…

Now I’m sitting here wondering why any and all of you play this game.
and that was the purpose of that long winded tale.

Post YOUR reasons for playing, maybe I could write my next Psychology paper over the troubled Youth and General Population of Various Communities
or something…

anyways, post away!

Now then, where to start? Well, it’s hard to take this kind of post seriously when it’s littered with irrelevant cheap shots at both AE and the playing community:

surreal and disgustingly ludicrous AQ and the downright weird and frustrating DF

but hey we all have to make living somehow and BattleOn has decided to use shoddily thrown together flash games with a few little extras thrown on to force people to pay them to “have fun” playing a game that wasn’t fun to begin with.

maybe I could write my next Psychology paper over the troubled Youth and General Population of Various Communities

Now let’s trim this poorly written POS (to use his words) down to the stuff that is actually related to the topic:

This time I just found myself coming back to the same worn out beating over and over again just to “reach that next level!” and “wear that awesome looking weapon!” on my “POS mecha!”

So, literally crawling and clawing my way through the levels and jobs that sit and stagnate even as I replay the same stale missions over and over JUST to get the Dice Randomizer Logarithm to scrape out a number just high enough to upgrade my lame character to the next job position so I could access better shops (only to find out i either couldn’t afford, didn’t have the level, or have to pay my real money to use any single item offered by these shops)

I still cant quite wear the weapons that would allow me to overcome the insane difficulty curve presented by the coding of MQ and anything else I could possibly use to tip the scales in my favor I have to plunk down the cash to buy Nova Gems? or a Star Captain authorization?!

So this is what he’s attempting to say (notice the word “attempting”): All I’m doing is grinding through the game just to reach a higher level, repeating the same jobs and quests over and over only to get the RNG (Random Number Generator), only to upgrade my character to a new job position that will allow me to buy new equipment at new shops. Of course, then I find out I’m not high enough level nor do I have enough credits to buy the equipment in these shops. So now I don’t have the firepower necessary to overcome the “insane difficulty curve” (hah) and the only way I can overcome this is by buying Nova Gems.

So many flaws, flaws, flaws in his logic. For starters, he seems to have this twisted idea that the whole point of the game revolves around simply leveling up, when it clearly doesn’t. Sure, leveling up is an important part of the game, but scaling itself proves leveling up is completely unnecessary to your enjoyment and overall completion ability of the game. Furthermore, the game truly revolves around the storyline, deep battle strategies, community, robot BOOM BOOM, etc. that make MechQuest so great.

Furthermore, he obviously hasn’t played the game long enough to realize that, yes, there is more to MechQuest than jobs. He makes a valid point that the job system is indeed tedious and repetitive, but it is such a minor, optional aspect of the game it doesn’t really need to change. When you look at the rest of Soluna City, the moon, Zargon, Gark, Lagos, and Westion, clearly the game is much, much more than the jobs. And his entire complaint is that the jobs are too tedious. Which is completely ridiculous to form an overall opinion on.

Lastly, he thinks MechQuest is such a difficult game to excel in. This is just a case of him failing to realize that he actually has to do more than just exist to win. All it takes is just a little strategy and planning (especially at the lower levels) and you should be just fine, but obviously this guy just doesn’t understand it.

Some may say I just wasted my time writing this, but I felt like I needed to expose why threads like these are just so bad, and need to be disposed of at all costs.

5 Responses to “Taking Apart Your Average MechQuest Rant”

  1. ScifiTroll said

    Good analysis. I don’t think it’s a waste of time at all to take on these type of posts in the forums. I really like the way you boiled down his arguments to the core and then took on the related issues.

  2. SCV said

    I remember that guy. Good analysis. Answered a few questions I had myself.

  3. Cyouni said

    I like this analysis.

    I admit, when I first started, there was very little that could be done at early levels. That was a few years ago. A post like this should not exist now, considering that MechQuest has expanded to over 5x more planets, just as a starting point.

  4. i agree with these comments and now i reach my 13 lvel,so many place get the experience in this game…haha

  5. Simidorl said

    +1. good one, i’ve not been on here or the forums lately but i’ve seen definitely enought to know what you mean. in fact, before i “grew up” as a video game player i’ve done these rants myself from time to time.

Leave a Reply

 
